Welcome from the Chair

Chair

Michael Wolf-Branigin

Michael Wolf-Branigin, MSW, PhD, PStat®
Chair, Department of Social Work
Professor
mwolfbra@gmu.edu
703-993-4229
Democracy Room 306

Research Interests:
  • Intellectual/developmental disabilities and addictions
  • Applications of complex systems theory in social service delivery  

Full Time Faculty

Carol Cleaveland

Carol Cleaveland, PhD, LSW
Associate Professor
ccleavel@gmu.edu
703-993-2597
Democracy Room 312

Research Interests:
  • Advocacy and undocumented immigrants
  • Welfare  

Valerie Cuffee

Valerie Cuffee, MSW, LCSW, CPM
Term Instructor
vcuffee@gmu.edu
703-993-2024
Democracy Room 310



Molly Davis

Molly Davis, EdD
Term Associate Professor
Associate Director of Field Education, Department of Social Work
mdavi7@gmu.edu
703-993-2028
Democracy Room 308 and Robinson B475D

Research Interests:
  • Human behavior
  • Gerontology
  • Intergenerational practice
  • Prevention
  • Risk management
  • Mental health  

Sharolyn Dugger

Sharolyn Dugger, LMSW
Director of Field Education, Social Work
sdugger@gmu.edu
703-993-6044
Democracy Room 313



Emily Ihara

Emily Ihara, PhD, MSW
Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Social Work Program
eihara@gmu.edu
703-993-2023
Democracy Room 317 and Robinson B475D

Research Interests:
  • Social determinants of health racial and ethnic minority groups and vulnerable populations
  • Immigrant health  

Megumi Inoue

Megumi Inoue, PhD
Assistant Professor
minoue2@gmu.edu
703-993-2737
Democracy Room 332

Research Interests:
  • Health and aging
  • End-of-life issues
  • Patient autonomy 

Vicki Kirsch

Vicki Kirsch, LCSW, PhD
Term Assistant Professor
Director, MSW Program
vkirsch@gmu.edu
703-993-6028
Democracy Room 305

Research Interests:
  • Trauma and recovery
  • Sex and sexuality
  • Eating disorders  

JoAnn Lee

JoAnn Lee, PhD
Assistant Professor
jLee120@gmu.edu
703-993-8411
Democracy Room 316

Research Interests:
  • Young adults' disconnection from social institutions

 


Holly Matto

Holly Matto, MSW, PhD
Associate Professor
hmatto@gmu.edu
703-993-6107
Democracy Room 309

Research Interests:
  • Substance abuse treatment intervention research
  • Integrative practice model development
  • Clinical interventions with children and families
  • Psychosocial assessment practices  

Kathy Prudden

Kathy Prudden, LCSW
Term Instructor
kprudden@gmu.edu
703-993-4246
Democracy Room 304



Dennis Ritchie

Dennis Ritchie, MSW, PhD
Professor
dritchi1@gmu.edu
703-993-1951
Democracy Room 311

Research Interests:
  • Child welfare
  • Community organization
  • Human rights
  • Generalist practice
  • Field education
  • International social work  

Sunny Harris Rome

Sunny Harris Rome, MSW, JD
Professor
srome@gmu.edu
703-993-2072
Democracy Room 307

Research Interests:
  • Social policy, legal studies, and advocacy
  • Child welfare and immigration  

Steven Rose

Steven Rose, PhD
Professor
srose@gmu.edu
703-993-4204
Democracy Room 315

Research Interests:
  • Social services for children and adolescents
  • Promotion of social competence and mental health
  • Prevalence of youth violence and substance abuse
  • Small group processes, interventions, and outcomes

Cathy Tompkins

Catherine Tompkins, MSW, PhD
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor
ctompkin@gmu.edu
703-993-2838
Democracy Room 314 and Robinson B413A

Research Interests:
  • Gerontological social work practice and education
  • Alzheimer's disease
  • Grandparent-headed households
  • Inter generational practice
  • Technology and education  

Laura Cordisco Tsai

Laura Cordisco Tsai, PhD, MSSW
Assistant Professor
lcordisc@gmu.edu
703-993-7017
Democracy Room 331

Research Interests:
  • Human trafficking
  • Gender-based violence  

Michael Wolf-Branigin

Michael Wolf-Branigin, MSW, PhD, PStat®
Chair, Department of Social Work
Professor
mwolfbra@gmu.edu
703-993-4229
Democracy Room 306

Research Interests:
  • Intellectual/developmental disabilities and addictions
  • Applications of complex systems theory in social service delivery  

Affiliate Faculty

No picture available

Faye Taxman, PhD
SOCW Affiliate Faculty
ftaxman@gmu.edu
703-993-8555

Research Interests:
  • Intervention research
  • Re-entry offenders
  • Systems of care models
  • Substance abuse and HIV  

Adjunct Faculty



No picture available

Jeanne Booth
Adjunct Faculty
jbooth7@gmu.edu


















No picture available

Carla Galone
Adjunct Faculty
cgalone@gmu.edu





Bhavani Hamann
Research Interests:
  • Brain Trauma
  • Families with Medical and Psychiatric patients
  • Women and Development
  • Substance Abuse
  • Mental Health of Veterans
  • Mental Health in the Military
  • Suicide prevention





No picture available

Elma Kaiser
Adjunct Faculty
ekaiser4@gmu.edu



No picture available

Leslie Martin
Adjunct Faculty
labrams@gmu.edu







Anne Rafal
Research Interests:
  • Child welfare
  • Aging
  • Domestic violence
  • Medical social work  



No picture available

Anita Rosen
Adjunct Faculty
arosen2@gmu.edu




No picture available
Research Interests:
  • Crime & delinquency
  • Social welfare policy and planning
  • Organizational behavior  







Staff

No picture available

Elaine Ervin
Information Specialist
swfield@gmu.edu
703-993-4245
Democracy Room 313



No picture available

Vannary Khov
Office Manager, Department of Social Work
vkhov@gmu.edu
703-993-2030
Democracy Room 303



No picture available

Le Anne Wisnieski
Part Time Administration
lwisnies@gmu.edu
703-993-4247
Democracy Room 300