Faculty and Staff

CHHS  >  Nursing

Director

Carol Urban

Carol Urban, PhD, RN
Associate Dean, CHHS
Director, School of Nursing
Term Associate Professor
curban@gmu.edu
703-993-2991
Peterson Hall 3005



School of Nursing Administration

Charlene Douglas

Charlene Douglas, PhD
Assistant Dean for BSN Programs
Commonwealth Associate Professor
cdouglas@gmu.edu
703-993-1937
Peterson Hall 3007

Research Interests:
  • Quality of life for cancer survivors 

R. Kevin Mallinson

R. Kevin Mallinson, PhD, RN, AACRN, FAAN
Assistant Dean for PhD and Research Programs
Associate Professor
rmallins@gmu.edu
703-993-1941
Peterson Hall 3047

Research Interests:
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Grief and bereavement
  • Strengthening nursing capacity in Africa  

Cherl Oetjen

Cheryl Oetjen
Assistant Dean for MSN and DNP Concentrations
Term Assistant Professor
coetjen@gmu.edu
703-993-1954
Peterson Hall 3022



Faculty

Katie Brewer

Katie Brewer
SoN Clinical Placement Coordinator
kbrewer7@gmu.edu
703-993-1935
Peterson Hall 3010



Robin Brewster

Robin Brewster
Term Assistant Professor
rbrewste@gmu.edu
703-993-2974
Peterson Hall 3046



Amy Burke

Amy Burke, RN, MSN
Term Instructor
aburke4@gmu.edu
703-993-1935
Peterson Hall 3033



Michele Davidson

Michele Davidson, PhD, CNM, CFN, RN
Associate Professor
mdavidso@gmu.edu
703-993-1924
Peterson Hall 3020



Charlene Douglas

Charlene Douglas, PhD
Assistant Dean for BSN Programs
Commonwealth Associate Professor
cdouglas@gmu.edu
703-993-1937
Peterson Hall 3007

Research Interests:
  • Quality of life for cancer survivors 

Kathleen Gaffney

Kathleen F. Gaffney, PhD, RN, F/PNP-BC
Professor
kgaffney@gmu.edu
703-993-9854
Peterson Hall 3038

Research Interests:
  • Child health promotion
  • Influence of maternal behaviors on infant health outcomes  

Victoria Garrison

Victoria Garrison, MD, BC
Physician and Term Assistant Professor
vgarriso@gmu.edu
703-993-2831
SUB I, Room 2300

Research Interests:
  • Bio-cognitive augmentation in embodied aid design
  • Diabetes management in adults/elderly
  • Telemedicine
  • New access to primary care  

No picture available

Adrienne Goodknight
Term Instructor
agoodkn@gmu.edu
703-993-9167
Peterson Hall 3030



Angelina Harman

Angelina Harman, DNP, FNP-BC
Term Assistant Professor
aharman1@gmu.edu
703-993-9659
Peterson Hall 3028



Barbara Hatcher

Barbara Hatcher, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN
Term Associate Professor
bhatche3@gmu.edu
703-993-1945
Peterson Hall 3034

Research Interests:
  • Leadership
  • Global health diplomacy
  • Community-based health care
  • Health disparities
  • Maternal and child health

Joanne Iannitto

Joanne Iannitto, DNP, ANP-BC, GNP-BC
Term Assistant Professor
jiannit1@gmu.edu
703-993-7046
Peterson Hall 3026

Research Interests:
  • Interprofessional education and practice
  • Chronic disease
  • Telehealth medicine
  • Insulin management in Type 2 Diabetes
  • Gerontology

Nancy Kelly

Nancy Kelly, DNP, RN, PHCNS-BC
Term Assistant Professor
nkelly6@gmu.edu
703-993-2963
Peterson Hall 3027

Research Interests:
  • Vulnerable populations
  • Cultural competence
  • Health disparities

Vicki Kieu

Vinh Kieu, PharmD
Term Assistant Professor
vkieu@gmu.edu
703-993-1946
Peterson Hall 3011



Marie Kodadek

Marie Kodadek, PhD, RN
Term Assistant Professor
mkodadek@gmu.edu
703-993-2964
Peterson Hall 3029



R. Kevin Mallinson

R. Kevin Mallinson, PhD, RN, AACRN, FAAN
Assistant Dean for PhD and Research Programs
Associate Professor
rmallins@gmu.edu
703-993-1941
Peterson Hall 3047

Research Interests:
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Grief and bereavement
  • Strengthening nursing capacity in Africa  

Bev Middle

Beverly Middle, DNP, MSN, RN, AGCNS-BC
Term Assistant Professor
bmiddle@gmu.edu
703-993-1905
Peterson Hall 3018

Research Interests:
  • Geriatrics
  • Delirium
  • Hospital Elder Life Program

Margaret Miklancie

Margaret Anne Miklancie, PhD, MSN, BSN
Associate Professor
mmiklanc@gmu.edu
703-993-1927
Peterson Hall 3023

Research Interests:
  • Nursing education 

Renee Milligan

Renee Milligan, FAAN, PhD, WHNP-BC
Term Professor
rmillig3@gmu.edu
703-993-5035
Peterson Hall 3035

Research Interests:
  • Care of low-income minority women
  • Breastfeeding promotion 

Cherl Oetjen

Cheryl Oetjen
Assistant Dean for MSN and DNP Concentrations
Term Assistant Professor
coetjen@gmu.edu
703-993-1954
Peterson Hall 3022



Kyeung-Mi Oh

Kyeung Mi Oh, PhD, MSN, RN
Associate Professor
koh5@gmu.edu
703-993-4550
Peterson Hall 3041

Research Interests:
  • Racial and ethnic disparities in cancer screening practices
  • Health information seeking behaviors
  • Disease prevention
  • Gerontology

No picture available

Jacqueline Payne-Borden
Term Assistant Professor
jpaynebo@gmu.edu
703-993-4661
Peterson Hall 3031



Lora Peppard

Lora Peppard, PhD, DNP, PMHNP-BC
Term Associate Professor
lpeppard@gmu.edu
703-993-5154
Peterson Hall 3039

Research Interests:
  • Healthcare model development
  • Integrated behavioral health and medical care
  • Interprofessional education
  • Management of Serious Mental Illness
  • Evidence-based management of combat trauma
  • Identification and management of behavioral health conditions in the underserved

Margaret Rodan

Margaret Rodan, ScD, MSN, MPH
Associate Professor
mrodan@gmu.edu
703-993-1727
Peterson Hall 3040

Research Interests:
  • Biopsychosocial risks
  • Behavioral interventions related to infant mortality and prenatal care  

Kathleen Scafide

Katherine Scafide, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
kscafide@gmu.edu
703-993-3595
Peterson Hall 3043

Research Interests:
  • Addressing disparities in identification and documentation of injuries among victims of violence, particularly those of color, using new, innovative technologies
  • Research related to campus sexual assault, intimate partner violence, and vulnerable adult maltreatment
  • Current active projects include the development of a new scale to measure bruise visibility, the use of alternate light to identify bruises or products that mimick bruises, and the epidemiology of drug facilitated sexual assault in the District of Columbia.

No picture available

Ana Stoehr, PhD, RN
Term Assistant Professor
astoehr@gmu.edu
703-993-4428
Peterson Hall 3021

Research Interests:
  • Nursing adminstration
  • Critical care
  • Perioperative

Rebecca Sutter

Rebecca Sutter, DNP, APRN, BC-FNP
Term Assistant Professor
Co-director, Mason and Partners (MAP) Clinics
rsutter2@gmu.edu
703-993-3611
Peterson Hall 3006

Research Interests:
  • Pediatric and adolescent screening and preventative care
  • Centering healthcare
  • Vulnerable populations and health care access 

Caroline Sutter

Caroline Sutter, DNP
Term Assistant Professor
Co-director, Mason and Partners (MAP) Clinics
csutter@gmu.edu
703-993-1957
Peterson Hall 3008



No picture available

Cheryl Toulouse
Term Assistant Professor
ctoulous@gmu.edu
703-993-3573
Peterson Hall 3025



Carol Urban

Carol Urban, PhD, RN
Associate Dean, CHHS
Director, School of Nursing
Term Associate Professor
curban@gmu.edu
703-993-2991
Peterson Hall 3005



Rosemarie Westberg

Rosemarie Westberg, MSN, CPN, BSN, RN
Term Instructor
Skill Labs and Graduate Clinical Placement Coordinator, School of Nursing
rwestber@gmu.edu
703-993-1971
Peterson Hall 3009



Staff

Susan Eckis

Susan Eckis
Office Manager, School of Nursing
seckis@gmu.edu
703-993-1938
Peterson Hall 3003



Victoria Hough

Victoria Hough
Administrative Assistant, School of Nursing
vhough@gmu.edu
703-993-1961
Peterson Hall 3000A



Janice Lee-Beverly

Janice Lee-Beverly
Education Specialist
jLeebev1@gmu.edu
703-993-1947
Peterson Hall 3000B