Faculty and Staff

CHHS  >  Nursing

Director

Carol Urban

Carol Urban, PhD, RN
Associate Dean, CHHS
Director, School of Nursing
Term Associate Professor
curban@gmu.edu
703-993-2991
Robinson A377



School of Nursing Administration

R. Kevin Mallinson

R. Kevin Mallinson, PhD, RN, AACRN, FAAN
Assistant Dean, Doctoral Division
Associate Professor
rmallins@gmu.edu
703-993-1941
Robinson A361B

Research Interests:
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Grief and bereavement
  • Strengthening nursing capacity in Africa  

Faculty

Katie Brewer

Katie Brewer
SoN Clinical Placement Coordinator
kbrewer7@gmu.edu
703-993-1935
Robinson A385



Robin Brewster

Robin Brewster
Term Assistant Professor
rbrewste@gmu.edu
703-993-2974
Robinson A380



Amy Burke

Amy Burke, RN, MSN
Term Instructor
aburke4@gmu.edu
703-993-1935
Robinson A385



Michele Davidson

Michele Davidson, PhD, CNM, CFN, RN
Associate Professor
mdavidso@gmu.edu
703-993-1924
Colgan Hall 306



Charlene Douglas

Charlene Douglas, PhD
Commonwealth Associate Professor
cdouglas@gmu.edu
703-993-1937
Robinson A379

Research Interests:
  • Quality of life for cancer survivors 

Kathleen Gaffney

Kathleen F. Gaffney, PhD, RN, F/PNP-BC
Professor
kgaffney@gmu.edu
703-993-9854
Robinson A373

Research Interests:
  • Child health promotion
  • Influence of maternal behaviors on infant health outcomes  

Victoria Garrison

Victoria Garrison, MD, BC
Physician and Term Assistant Professor
vgarriso@gmu.edu
703-993-2831
SUB I, Room 2300

Research Interests:
  • Bio-cognitive augmentation in embodied aid design
  • Diabetes management in adults/elderly
  • Telemedicine
  • New access to primary care  

No picture available

Adrienne Goodknight
Term Instructor
agoodkn@gmu.edu
703-993-9167
Robinson A370



Angelina Harman

Angelina Harman, DNP, FNP-BC
Term Assistant Professor
aharman1@gmu.edu
703-993-9659
Colgan Hall 303C



Barbara Hatcher

Barbara Hatcher, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN
Term Associate Professor
bhatche3@gmu.edu
703-993-1945
Robinson A371

Research Interests:
  • Leadership
  • Global health diplomacy
  • Community-based health care
  • Health disparities
  • Maternal and child health

Joanne Iannitto

Joanne Iannitto, DNP, ANP-BC, GNP-BC
Term Assistant Professor
jiannit1@gmu.edu
703-993-7046
Colgan Hall 303B

Research Interests:
  • Interprofessional education and practice
  • Chronic disease
  • Telehealth medicine
  • Insulin management in Type 2 Diabetes
  • Gerontology

Nancy Kelly

Nancy Kelly, DNP, RN, PHCNS-BC
Term Assistant Professor
nkelly6@gmu.edu
703-993-2963
Colgan Hall 303A

Research Interests:
  • Vulnerable populations
  • Cultural competence
  • Health disparities

Vicki Kieu

Vinh Kieu, PharmD
Term Assistant Professor
vkieu@gmu.edu
703-993-1946
Robinson A364



Marie Kodadek

Marie Kodadek, PhD, RN
Term Assistant Professor
mkodadek@gmu.edu
703-993-2964
Robinson A383



R. Kevin Mallinson

R. Kevin Mallinson, PhD, RN, AACRN, FAAN
Assistant Dean, Doctoral Division
Associate Professor
rmallins@gmu.edu
703-993-1941
Robinson A361B

Research Interests:
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Grief and bereavement
  • Strengthening nursing capacity in Africa  

Bev Middle

Beverly Middle, DNP, MSN, RN, AGCNS-BC
Term Assistant Professor
bmiddle@gmu.edu
703-993-1905
Robinson A368

Research Interests:
  • Geriatrics
  • Delirium
  • Hospital Elder Life Program

Margaret Miklancie

Margaret Anne Miklancie, PhD, MSN, BSN
Associate Professor
mmiklanc@gmu.edu
703-993-1927
Robinson A369

Research Interests:
  • Nursing education 

Renee Milligan

Renee Milligan, FAAN, PhD, WHNP-BC
Term Professor
rmillig3@gmu.edu
703-993-5035
Robinson A367

Research Interests:
  • Care of low-income minority women
  • Breastfeeding promotion 

Cherl Oetjen

Cheryl Oetjen
Term Assistant Professor
coetjen@gmu.edu
703-993-1954
Colgan Hall 305



Kyeung-Mi Oh

Kyeung Mi Oh, PhD, MSN, RN
Associate Professor
koh5@gmu.edu
703-993-4550
Robinson A363

Research Interests:
  • Racial and ethnic disparities in cancer screening practices
  • Health information seeking behaviors
  • Disease prevention
  • Gerontology

No picture available

Jacqueline Payne-Borden
Term Assistant Professor
jpaynebo@gmu.edu
703-993-4661
Robinson A375



Lora Peppard

Lora Peppard, PhD, DNP, PMHNP-BC
Term Associate Professor
lpeppard@gmu.edu
703-993-5154
Robinson A365

Research Interests:
  • Healthcare model development
  • Integrated behavioral health and medical care
  • Interprofessional education
  • Management of Serious Mental Illness
  • Evidence-based management of combat trauma
  • Identification and management of behavioral health conditions in the underserved

Margaret Rodan

Margaret Rodan, ScD, MSN, MPH
Associate Professor
mrodan@gmu.edu
703-993-1727
Robinson A387

Research Interests:
  • Biopsychosocial risks
  • Behavioral interventions related to infant mortality and prenatal care  

Kathleen Scafide

Katherine Scafide, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
kscafide@gmu.edu
703-993-3595
Robinson A361C

Research Interests:
  • Addressing disparities in identification and documentation of injuries among victims of violence, particularly those of color, using new, innovative technologies
  • Research related to campus sexual assault, intimate partner violence, and vulnerable adult maltreatment
  • Current active projects include the development of a new scale to measure bruise visibility, the use of alternate light to identify bruises or products that mimick bruises, and the epidemiology of drug facilitated sexual assault in the District of Columbia.

No picture available

Ana Stoehr, PhD, RN
Term Assistant Professor
astoehr@gmu.edu
703-993-4428
Robinson A366

Research Interests:
  • Nursing adminstration
  • Critical care
  • Perioperative

Rebecca Sutter

Rebecca Sutter, DNP, APRN, BC-FNP
Term Assistant Professor
Co-director, Mason and Partners (MAP) Clinics
rsutter2@gmu.edu
703-993-3611
Robinson A374

Research Interests:
  • Pediatric and adolescent screening and preventative care
  • Centering healthcare
  • Vulnerable populations and health care access 

Carrie Sutter

Caroline Sutter, DNP
Term Assistant Professor
Co-director, Mason and Partners (MAP) Clinics
csutter@gmu.edu
703-993-1957
Robinson A370



No picture available

Cheryl Toulouse
Term Assistant Professor
ctoulous@gmu.edu
703-993-3573
Colgan Hall 307C



Carol Urban

Carol Urban, PhD, RN
Associate Dean, CHHS
Director, School of Nursing
Term Associate Professor
curban@gmu.edu
703-993-2991
Robinson A377



Rosemarie Westberg

Rosemarie Westberg, MSN, CPN, BSN, RN
Term Instructor
Skill Labs and Graduate Clinical Placement Coordinator, School of Nursing
rwestber@gmu.edu
703-993-1971
Robinson A385



Staff

No picture available

Christine Clemons
Administrator, Virginia & Mason SBIRT Projects
cclemon@gmu.edu
703-993-1904



Susan Eckis

Susan Eckis
Office Manager, School of Nursing
seckis@gmu.edu
703-993-1938
Robinson A393



No picture available

Victoria Hough
Administrative Assistant, School of Nursing
vhough@gmu.edu
703-993-1961
Robinson A391



Janice Lee-Beverly

Janice Lee-Beverly
Education Specialist
jLeebev1@gmu.edu
703-993-1947
Robinson A357A