Office of Student Affairs

About Us

The CHHS Office of Student Affairs (OSA) works with all CHHS academic departments and university student support services to ensure a positive experience for our students throughout their academic careers. Our goals are to treat every student fairly and equitably and to ensure the academic integrity of the degrees conferred by George Mason University in the College of Health and Human Services. 

We are involved with students from recruitment, orientation, and academic advising, through degree-conferral. The OSA also includes the CHHS Office of Admissions, which offers information sessions to prospective students, processes applications to graduate programs and the BSN nursing program, and answers questions from prospective students. 

Academic advisors in OSA support students in their transition to Mason; connect them to campus resources and involvement opportunities; teach students to engage in a process of self-reflection, guiding them to find degree pathways that match their interests, skills, and abilities; help students function successfully within the university; and assist students in developing and pursuing academic and professional goals.

Office Hours

OSA is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm. Advising appointments can be made by calling 703-993-1901 or emailing chhs@gmu.edu. Alternatively, current students are welcome to drop by during our scheduled walk-in hours on Mondays from 1:00 – 4:00 pm and Fridays from 9:00 am – 12:00 pm.

Walk-in hours for prospective students (non-Mason students who are planning to apply to the university) are available on the first Tuesday of each month from 1:00 – 4:00 p.m. Please bring unofficial copies of your transcripts and a list of your questions in order to make the most of your time with the advisor.

Contact Us

Whitney Gaston

Whitney Gaston
Interim Director of the Office of Student Affairs and Assistant Dean of the College of Health and Human Services
wgaston@gmu.edu
703-993-4621
Robinson B407



Heather Aycock

Heather Aycock
BSN Applications Specialist
bsnapps@gmu.edu
703-993-5289
Robinson Hall B402



Valerie Bartush

Valerie Bartush
Academic Advisor
vbartush@gmu.edu
703-993-1964
Robinson B405



Kelly Benedicto

Kelly Benedicto
Graduate Admissions Processor
kbenedi2@gmu.edu
703-993-1736
Robinson B401



Allison Bustria

Allison Bustria
Receptionist
abustria@gmu.edu
703-993-1901
Robinson B402



No picture available

Joanne Hawk
Administrative Office Specialist III
jhawk@gmu.edu
703-993-8896
Robinson B402



No picture available

Maria Perez-Brodeur
Academic Advisor
mperezb2@gmu.edu
703-993-4671
Robinson B409



No picture available

Jennifer Sawyer
Undergraduate Coordinator for Admissions and Recruitment
jsawyer6@gmu.edu
703-993-5054
Robinson B403



Harvie Singh

Harvinder Singh
Graduate Admissions Specialist, Office of Student Affairs
hsingh@gmu.edu
703-993-1736
Robinson B401



No picture available

Amanda Stokes
Graduate Admissions & Recruitment Coordinator
astokes6@gmu.edu
703-993-5275
Robinson B411



No picture available

Pat Tope
Office Manager, Office of Student Affairs
ptope@gmu.edu
703-993-1914
Robinson B408